Malala Yousafzai becomes world’s youngest Nobel Peace Prize recipient at 17. Who else has won the award over the past 10 years?

Pakistani teenager Malala Yousafzai has been named joint winner of the Nobel Peace Prize, along with Kailash Satyarthi, an Indian children’s rights activist.

Yousafzai is the youngest ever recipient of the prestigious award. The Nobel committee cited her “heroic struggle” in the “most dangerous circumstances” to fight for girls’ right to education.

The committee added that “despite her youth, Malala Yousafzai has already fought for several years for the right of girls to education, and has shown by example that children and young people, too, can contribute to improving their own situations.”

Aged 15, Yousafzai was shot in the head in Pakistan by a Taliban gunman, after her rise to prominence as a leading voice in the battle for access to education.

She was subsequently airlifted to Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Birmingham, where she was treated for life-threatening injuries.

Joint winner Satyarthi was praised by the Nobel committee for leading peaceful protests for children’s rights, in the tradition of Mahatma Ghandi.

We take a look back at the winners from the last 10 years, and the Nobel committee’s reasons for selecting them.


The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons won “for its extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons”.


The European Union “for having over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe.”


Three winners shared the prize. Tawakkul Karman from Yemen, Leymah Gbowee and Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, both of Liberia, “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work.”


Liu Xiaobo, the Chinese human rights activist, was awarded the prize “for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China.”


Barack Obama took the gong “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples.”


Martti Ahtisaari, a United Nations diplomat and mediator, won “for his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts.”


US politician Al Gore shared the prize with the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change “for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change.”


Muhammad Yunus, a Bangladeshi social entrepreneur, banker, economist and civil society leader, shared the prize with the microfinance organization and community development bank, Bangladeshi Grameen Bank, “for advancing economic and social opportunities for the poor, especially women, through their pioneering microcredit work.”


Egyptian law scholar and diplomat Mohamed ElBaradei, along with the International Atomic Energy Agency, shared the prize for “their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way.”


Kenyan environmental and political activist Wangari Muta Maathai took the award “for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace.”


Now read:


The five funniest and most bonkers crowdfunding campaigns

Social Bookmarks