You will now know if one of your creepy mates is saving your Snapchats

Snapchat has introduced a new feature which notifies senders if their photos have been captured by third party software.

Some unofficial apps allow receivers to, up until now, secretly store Snapchat images and videos. These apps were the focus of criticism earlier this year when more than 100,000 naked or sexually explicit images were shared online after the app Snapsaved was hacked.

Snapchat already lets senders know if the person who received the image has screenshotted it, but the new function will provide further protection to users’ privacy.

Snapchat is also forcing those using third party apps to change their password to help reduce hacking.

Is this enough to protect people’s privacy? Tell us on our Facebook page or in the comments below.


Homepage+newsletter+clickthrough+push+-+Cityscape

Now read:

Beefeater kissing a Raven at the Tower of London

11 hilarious and mysterious urban myths about London


Internet love

What’s more important to Brits than taking a shower? Surfing the internet

Social Bookmarks