William Hague makes shock exit in cabinet reshuffle – but who else has got the chop?

Last night was a turbulent evening for cabinet members. Rumours were flying around as to who was being cut from David Cameron’s cabinet, with a few names cropping up over and over – none of which were William Hague.

The foreign secretary surprised Westminster and the media by announcing his resignation, revealing he’ll be taking over from Andrew Lansley as leader of the House of Commons until 2015, when he will step down as an MP.

Hague, who was first elected in 1989, was a relatively well-trusted and popular member of the cabinet. Having previously led the Conservative Party, but losing the 2001 general election to Blair’s Labour government, he took a break from politics but returned in 2005 under Cameron.

The Richmond MP said he would “finish in politics as I began – speaking in Parliament and campaigning among the voters”.

The prime minister said: “William Hague has been one of the leading lights of the Conservative Party for a generation, leading the party and serving in two cabinets.”

Who else has got the chop?

Ken Clarke, who has been in parliament since 1972, has also stepped down as expected.

In his resignation letter to Davis Cameron, he wrote: “I have been doing red boxes at night for a high proportion of my adult life. There are plenty of other able people who could take on the work that I was doing in government and I think the time has come to return to being a veteran backbencher.”

Ken Clarke

He said he will remain as an MP to fight in favour of Britain remaining a member of the EU, adding the case for membership was stronger than ever in the run up to the possible 2017 referendum.

This morning it was announced Michael Gove has been moved from education secretary to chief whip.

These other MPs have been axed or resigned:

  • David Jones, Welsh secretary
  • Owen Paterson, environment secretary
  • Dominic Grieve, attorney general
  • Sir George Young, chief whip
  • Alan Duncan, development minister
  • David Willetts, universities minister
  • Greg Barker, energy minister
  • Damian Green, police minister
  • Hugh Robertson, Foreign Office minister
  • Nick Hurd, civil society minister
  • Andrew Robathan, Northern Ireland minister

These have moved:

  • Philip Hammond to foreign secretary
  • Nicky Morgan to education secretary
  • Liz Truss to environment secretary
  • Jeremy Wright to attorney general
  • Michael Fallon to defence secretary
  • Stephen Crabb to Welsh secretary
  • Baroness Stowell to leader of the House of Lords
  • Greg Clark to minister for science and universities (keeping role as minister for the constitution and cities)
  • Matthew Hancock to minister of energy, business and Portsmouth
  • Nick Boles to minister of state at Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and the Department for Education
  • Mike Penning to joint ministerial role in both Home Office and Ministry of Justice
  • Mark Harper to minister of state for Department for Work and Pensions

Tweet me your thoughts @robynvinter

Button - LinkedIn

Social Bookmarks